Other side of the camera – Part 2!

As a follow up to my post the other day I thought I would talk a little more about the “photoshop” part of being a portrait photographer. I know a lot of people don’t understand why most professional photographers (myself and lots others out there) charge more then Costco, CVS, etc for their prints. Well of course I can’t speak for anyone else but, part of my prices for the products I offer (reprints, digital negatives and canvas gallery wraps) reflect the time I spend in front of the computer working on the images I take. My goal is to make a better product, even better then what I can do with the camera. 

I should mention that I don’t go photoshop crazy. I do like to use it to enhance the images that are coming straight out of the camera (SOFC). So here are some “before” and “after” images to help show you what I do and what are you are paying for (other than taking the photos)! 🙂

BEFORE SOFC: This little cute doesn’t need much help from me but the color could pop a bit more, let’s take advantage of this pink!

blogmarybefore.jpg 

 

AFTER: Although the “before” image isn’t bad and what I did isn’t drastic, I think a little tweaking takes it to the next level. I lightened up the over all image, pumped up the color a touch and retouched out the plug on the wall. I should mention that I don’t always retouch out things like plugs, if I think it’s distracting I will but if it helps the balance of the image, makes the setting more “real” or plan ole doesn’t bother me, I’ll leave things like that in.

blogmaryafter.jpg
 

BEFORE SOFC: Although the exposure overall isn’t bad, the image isn’t cropped exactly how I wanted (FYI: I did take this image cropped this way planning on fixing it later) and the color is just a bit dull.  

blogbenbefore.jpg
 

AFTER: A little bit goes a long way! Again, I knew when I took this image that I could fix the cropping later since I didn’t want to do it in camera and loose some of the image all the way around. I also bright up the color a touch, added a slight vignette on the edges and retouched out the light switch (I felt like it was distracting).

16086.jpg
 

BEFORE SOFC: Nobody is prefect and this images is definitely under exposed! My bad!

blogoliviabefore.jpg

AFTER: I lightened up the over all image and pumped up the color. Much better!

blogoliviaafter.jpg 
 
So I hope this was interesting and also helps explain a bit better of what you are getting when you hire me! 🙂
 
Kelli
0 Responses to “Other side of the camera – Part 2!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Copyright

All images on this blog belong to Purple Tree Photography, LLC. Please do not save to your hard drive, download, print or post any image from this blog.

StatCounter

click tracking

